The Writing On The Wall

My eyes are red. I have a migraine. I haven’t posted for several days now. What the hell have I been up to?

Reading polls.

Specifically, polls about Arizona’s new show-us-your-papers law. Even though it’s unconstitutional (not my words, but those of several republicans), most Americans approve of the bill. Depending on which poll you look at, anywhere from 53 to 76 percent of Americans give it a thumbs-up. Arizonans support the new law anywhere between 62 to 80 percent.

Look, I’d love to see the issue of illegal immigration be dealt with on a national level. Partisanship has made that impossible, and both sides are at fault. I get the whole States Rights argument as well.

But this law only makes a bad situation worse. For Arizona’s cops, for Arizona’s legal citizens of Latino descent, and for Arizona’s economy. Intolerance has never been more fashionable. Hate is the new Patriotism.

America is a Nation of Laws. A republic governed by We The People. But if this is what the country I love wants to become, it will have to do it without me. Unless cooler heads prevail, and soon, I’ll have no choice but to move to Mexico.

3 responses to “The Writing On The Wall

  1. Yeah, but then you run the risk of the Mexican police busting you for being white.

    I’m not surprised by the polls. Millions of so-called citizens, most of whom probably couldn’t pass the citizenship test, listen to Limbaubeck and Paleobachmann, none of whom I’d wager could pass the citizenship test that immigrants pass routinely. It’s too much to expect many of them to understand the issues in play.

Leave a Reply

